# CAIMS AGM June 14, 2022 President-Elect Report

My primary duty was overseeing the Awards and Prizes, including recruiting new members for the selection committees. As was announced in the E-News the winners are as follows.

- CAIMS Research Prize Frithjof Lutscher (Ottawa)
- CAIMS/Fields Industrial Prize Ray Spiteri (Saskatchewan)
- CAIMS/PIMS Early Career Award Elina Robeva (UBC)
- Cecil Graham Doctoral Dissertation Award **Ali Kara (PhD** from Queen's)
- Arthur Beaumont Service Award no nominations received Other than the Distinguished Service Award, all the prizes received more than one nominations, which is great! Please keep the nominations coming.

I would like to thank the many volunteers who served on the various committees (see below) and especially the committee chairs who helped ensure the smooth functioning of the selection process.

### • CAIMS Research Prize

Anita Layton (Waterloo), Jimmy Garnier (Savoie Mont-Blanc), **Steven Ruuth** (SFU, Chair), Alexey Shevyakov (Saskatchewan), Xingfou Zou (Western)

### • CAIMS-Fields Industrial Research Prize

James Feng (UBC), Roderick Melnik (Wilfrid Laurier), Kumar Murty (Fields), Catherine Sulem (U of T, Fields), **Brian Wetton**, (UBC, Chair)

## • CAIMS-PIMS Early Career Award

Ben Adcok (SFU), **Bahman Gharesifard** (Queens, Chair), Jean-Philippe Lessard (McGill), Stephanie Portet (Manitoba, PIMS), Weiran Sun (UBC, PIMS)

#### • Cecil Graham Doctoral Dissertation Award

**Matthew Betti** (Mount Alison, Chair), Yana Nec (TRU), Chun-Hua Ou (Memorial), Pouria Ramazi (Brock), Tanya Schmah (Ottawa)

### • Arthur Beaumont Distinguished Service Award

Lucy Campbell (Carleton, Chair), Gail Wolkowicz (McMaster), James Colliander (UBC)