Group Honors & Awards

  • Best Paper Award at 3dRR 2015
    (“3-D Volumetric Shape Abstraction from a Single 2-D Image” by Pablo Sala, Sven Dickinson)
  • Best Demo Award at CVPR 2015
    (“Energy-Efficient Structured Light Imaging” by Supreeth Achar, Matthew O’Toole, Srinivasa G. Narasimhan, Kyros Kutulakos)
  • Best Demo Award at ICCP 2015
    (“Energy-Efficient Structured Light Imaging” by Supreeth Achar, Matthew O’Toole, Kyros Kutulakos, Srinivasa G. Narasimhan)
  • Best Paper Honorable Mention at CVPR 2014
    (“3D Shape and Indirect Appearance by Structured Light Transport” by Matthew P. O’Toole, John Mather and Kyros Kutulakos)
  • Best Paper Honorable Mention at CVPR 2013
    (Leveraging the Crowd for Probabilistic Visual Self-Localization by M. Brubaker, A. Geiger and R. Urtasun)
  • Lifetime Research Achievement Award | The Canadian Image Processing and Pattern Recognition Society
    Sven Dickenson 2012
  • Koenderink Prize at ECCV 2010
    (Hedvig Sidenbladh, Michael J. Black and David J. Fleet)
  • Best Paper Honorable Mention at ECCV 2006
    (“Confocal Stereo” by Samuel W. Hasinoff and Kyros Kutulakos)
  • Marr Prize Honorable Mention at ICCV 2005
    (“A Theory of Refractive and Specular 3D Shape by Light-Path Triangulation” by Eron Steger and Kiriakos N. Kutulakos)
  • Best Paper Award at UIST 2003
    (“Perceptually-supported image editing of text and graphics” by Saund, Fleet, Larner & Mahoney)
  • Province of Ontario Premiere’s Research Excellence Award (PREA)
    (Sven Dickinson, 2002, Kyros Kutulakos, 2003)
  • Runner-up prize for best paper at CVPR 2001
    (“Robust Appearance Models” by Alan Jepson, T.F. El-Maraghi & David Fleet)
  • Sloan Fellowship
    (Kryos Kutulakos, 2001; David Fleet 1996)
  • David Marr Prize for best paper at ICCV 1999
    (“A Theory of Space Carving” by Kyros Kutulakos & Seitz)
  • David Marr Honorable Mention at ICCV 1999
    (“Probabilistic Detection and Tracking of Motion Discontinuities” by Black & Fleet)
  • U.S. National Science Foundation CAREER Award
    (Sven Dickinson, 1996; Kyros Kutulakos, 1999)
  • Investigator Award, Canadian Image Processing and Pattern Recognition Society
    (Terzopoulos, 1998)
  • Killiam Research Fellowship, The Canada Council for the Arts
    (Terzopoulos, 1998)
  • E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
    (Terzopoulos, 1996)
  • ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award, 1996
    (“Artificial Animals for Computer Animation” by Xiaoyuan Tu)
  • Fellowship of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research
    (Terzopoulos, 1995)
  • Prix Ars Electronica, Computer Animation Honorary Award
    (Terzopoulos, 1995)
  • NICOGRAPH paper award
    (Morishima, Terzopoulos et al, 1995)